And The Debate Continues...


The JLGB’s National Debating Competition took place on Sunday 5th December 2010 and was sponsored by the Association of Jewish Ex-Servicemen and Women (AJEX) and the Board of Deputies of British Jews (BoD).  This exciting annual competition is now in its 55th year!

The Debating Competition is proud to be the UK's only Jewish debating competition.  This year over 20 teams from schools, synagogues and organisations took part.  

The winners of The Sir Peter E Lazarus National Debating Trophy were Hilary Davidson and Joel Fenster from JFS.   Joel Fenster was also judged to be the Best Speaker and was awarded the AJEX Lionel Rose Memorial Menorah which was presented by AJEX Vice President Ron Shelley MBE.  The Novice Trophy went to Jack Lewy and Chetanya Sharma from Haberdashers’ Aske’s  Boy’s School and was presented by The Board of Deputies Treasurer and Chair of the 250th Committee, Laurence Brass.

The competition is held in such high prestige and is of such high quality that winners of the overall and "Best Speaker" competitions have gone on to win the Oxford, Cambridge and Durham Union Schools' and all-England ESU Mace debating competitions.  In addition, one winning debater went on to be named "Best Speaker" at the World Schools Debating Championships.

Stephen Pollard, Editor of The Jewish Chronicle, was The Guest of Honour and Chair of the judging panel for the final.

For more information about the Sir Peter E Lazarus Debating Competition or any other JLGB activity,
Contact JLGB Headquarters on 020 8989 8990,

Get involved with JLGB Today


Explore the World of JLGB